Tuesday 9 May saw the first nursing, midwifery and healthcare support worker (HCSW) awards take place in the atrium at the Royal Free Hospital.

Hosted by group chief nurse Julie Hamilton, 44 individual finalists or teams were invited to attend the event, with just under 160 members of staff being nominated.

Overall, there were six categories and 11 winners.

Julie Hamilton said the afternoon brought everyone together to celebrate the outstanding contribution of those who "have gone above and beyond their standard duties and responsibilities."

"Nearly 160 staff were nominated by their colleagues for an award - a testament to our brilliant nurses, midwives and healthcare support workers, whose hard work and dedication make our trust the special place that it is.

"It was heartwarming to read the nominations which detailed acts of kindness and compassion for both patients and colleagues alongside going the extra mile to ensure our patients and their carers receive world class care. Well done to everyone who was nominated and to our finalists and winners!"

Following the awards ceremony, everyone enjoyed afternoon tea, and RFH art therapist Jacqueline Kottler ran a collaborative art session about what it means to be a nurse, midwife and HCSW.

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees.


Leadership award

Katharine Hannon – matron, day surgery, pre-assessment and 7 North (RFH)


Special recognition (N&M)

Joan Harman, practice development midwife (BH)


Special recognition (HCSW)

Rebecca Macatangay – healthcare assistant on Damson Ward (BH)


Unsung contribution award (N&M)

Nirmala Evans, senior clinical practice educator (BH)


Unsung contribution award (HCSW)

Rositsa Nikolova (HCSW) – phlebotomist/healthcare assistant, nephrology (RFH)


Quality innovation and improvement award (N&M)

Eleanor Pinder, community midwife


Team working award (RFH)

11 South


Team working award (BH)

Barnet emergency department


Nurse of the year

Rowena Fabella – clinical practice educator, Surgical Ward CFH


Midwife of the year

Tanana Clarke – community maternity matron


HCSW of the year

Anna Masan – HCA on 7 East