Our long service awards returned last week to celebrate our staff who have devoted 25 or 40 years to the Royal Free London (RFL). Each year, we’re proud to celebrate these achievements and be a part of these momentous milestones in our colleague’s careers. 

There were 71 staff members who reached 25 years working at the RFL, and each received their long service awards(*). On behalf of everyone at the trust, we want to say a huge congratulations for their dedication and hard work over the many years. 

Three of our members of staff achieved their 40th year at the trust: administrative and clerical officer, George Evans (pictured right); charge nurse, See Lee (pictured left); and capital accountant, Lynne Bateman. 

Our group chief executive, Caroline Clarke, surprised them with a visit along with director of operations, Rachel Anticoni, at the Royal Free Hospital (RFH) and chief executive, Deborah Sanders, at Barnet Hospital (BH). They awarded them their certificates in person along with a few words of thanks. 

Caroline said: “It’s such an honour to be able to present these long service awards – we have a unique set of people who have literally given most, if not all, or their working lives to the NHS and to our hospitals in the Royal Free London group. Thank you.”

George works in the radiology department at the RFH, where his team have said he has shown great commitment. He is described as an inspiration.

Abul Hasnat, radiology and administrative and clerical manager, paid tribute to George on behalf of the radiology department: “We are grateful for your hard work, dedication and loyalty. You embody the spirit and letter of the trust values. You are an inspiration to us all and we are truly honoured to work alongside you.”

See Lee’s team, at the Starlight neonatal unit at BH, praised her excellent care and support to babies and parents who visit. Not only has Lee been there for patients, she has shared her skills with new staff and students over the years and continues to be someone the neonatal team can count on. 

Matron Madina Ahmed said: "Lee is hard-working, diligent in her approach, professional, caring, kind and demonstrates the values of the RFL in her daily work. It has been a privilege to work with Lee.”

See Lee, known as Lee, was very surprised with her long service award presentation. Looking back on her time at the RFL, she said, “Working in Barnet has been like a big family to me, that’s why I stayed. We all grew up as a family here. I have enjoyed all these years of working and I have seen lots of changes all for the better.”

Lynne celebrated her retirement as well as receiving her long service award from commercial director of finance, Mike Dinan.   

Her team wished her all the best for the future: “After your many years of service, enjoy a thoroughly well-deserved retirement. We will miss your helpful, gracious, friendly nature and mostly the regular updates of the latest news in the trust. You have been a valued member of the team and a great role model.”

With four decades at the RFL under their belts, George, Lee and Lynne have made a positive impact on the patients they have treated and the colleagues they have worked alongside. These staff members have shown an unwavering commitment to their work and remarkable dedication to the trust. We can’t say a big enough thank you to them. 

Once again, congratulations to our long service staff!

*Clare Poole, clinical site manager; Kate Rock, senior clinical site manager; Timothy Gluck, consultant; Gillian Chase, administrative and clerical officer; Louise Lines, nursing assistant; Victoria Emerson, nurse; Deborah Hyman, technical support worker/hearing therapy administrator; Patrick McGowan, consultant; Carine Kelly, clinical nurse specialist; Deborah Hodge, community neonatal nurse; Devbala Patel, administrative and clerical officer; Marcia Edwards, nursing assistant; Suzanne Darcy-Salinger, midwife; Barbara Pearson, nurse; Shaun Beecroft, specialty doctor; Natasha Kenny, administrative and clerical officer; Nicholas Sigley, administrative and clerical officer; Fay Thomas, administrative and clerical officer; Michala Magwood, administrative and clerical officer; Chandrakanthi Sureshkumar, medical tech. officer; Comfort Buckson, support worker; Michael Buttle, clerical worker; Sally Akiwumi, deputy finance manager; Charlotte Gracia, clinical change lead; Dawn Smith, change lead; Alison McKenzie, administrative and clerical officer; Parvaiz Asghar, operations manager; Lee Johnston, superintendent radiographer; Leslie Carruthers, administrative and clerical officer; David Darwin, radiographer; Jennifer Morris, pharmacy technician; Meera Thacker, deputy chief pharmacist; Anne Davies, consultant; Augustine Osei-Bediako, ward administrator; Donna Townsend, nurse; Julie Watts, consultant; Kaveeta Mohun, ward administrator; Mary Fogarty, clinical nurse specialist; John Jackson, administrative and clerical officer; Lida Majd-Moghaddam, clinical nurse specialist; Paul Priest, lead nurse specialist; Adeyinka Ige, administrative and clerical officer; Adebisi Oluwole, administrative and clerical officer; Michael Youle, specialty doctor; Birah Nandutu, junior sister/charge nurse; Jacqui Drummond, phlebotomist; Rose Ashibogu, housekeeper; Marion Farrell, administrative and clerical officer; Heather Angus-Leppan, consultant; Catherine Ford, junior sister/charge nurse; Susan Bullock, specialist nurse; Lynda McLeod, administrative and clerical officer; Caroline Hagard, administrative and clerical officer; Mahmud Beg, optometrist; Bushra Jajo, administrative and clerical officer; Lesley Knight, manager; Angela Pegorini, therapy practitioner; Denise Kunka, dietician; Anna Koundouri, personal assistant; Beth Jacobs, administrative and clerical officer; Elizabeth Church, junior sister/charge nurse; Jean Partridge, nursing assistant; John Broadbent, consultant; Kathleen Peterson, junior sister/charge nurse; Evans Dampare, support worker; Linda Collins, support worker; Joaquina Da Costa, support worker; Asia Elkhursani, support worker; Folorunso Lawanson, assistant technical officer; Robert Greenbaum, consultant; Susanne Althauser, consultant.